Malerei und Collage / painting and collage
21. May 2023 - 13. August 2023
Birte Horn - set_up
Kabinett

colourvote 2021 election posters, intervention screen print © Birte Horn
Researching motives for her work, Birte Horn often explores and photographs disappearing places – such as villages to be demolished in Garzweiler in the soft coal mining area or an abandoned hospital in Venice. She is interested in the colours, shapes, and structures of rooms and items that had been abandoned when people left. These photographs are a first starting point for her paintings and collages.
Bunte Papierausschnitte geometrisch geordnet
papercut_18 2019 Letraset. © Birte Horn

Horn’s works are the result of a multi-layered process: In her paintings, found colour-shapes are woven into special, often abstract arrangements. The relationship between fields and empty space is one of her main themes – it is the counterpart to three-dimensional space.

It is a process of continuous fragmentation and transformation, until the painted network of layers conquers its space in the canvas and becomes substantial.

Wandinstallation monochrome, farbige Platten
standout_3 und 4, Farbfonds, 2021. © Birte Horn

For Birte Horn, painting is an interspace, always anticipating the shift of reality in the process of finding imagery. In her work, the artist focuses on the principle of deconstruction and construction. She extracts, fragments, and recombines – with her mind, eyes, hands, and language. The thoughts and images in her head are allowed to roam in all directions at will, they overlap and fuse into always new ideas. Which creates a lot of freedom to play with fragments of reality.

 

Biography Birte Horn

Birte Horn, born in 1972 in Düsseldorf, studied art at the university Folkwang-Hochschule in Essen with Professor Laszlo Lakner and German philology at Heinrich-Heine-University in Düsseldorf. She has been living in Blaubeuren for many years. She was awarded a scholarship by Stiftung Kunstfonds and pro arte ulmer kunststiftung. Her works have been shown in Antwerp, Barcelona, Berlin, Den Haag, Douarnenez, Engen and Stuttgart.

teile_12 2019 oil on canvas. © Birte Horn

Curator: Dr. Raimund Kast
Opening on International Museum Day
Sunday, 21 May 2023, 2 pm

***

21 May 2023
International Museum Day at Stadthaus

11:30 am: Trio Solovey - Eva Möritz, Katharina Möritz-Rodionov and Dmitry Rodionov
Romantic songs for Soprano, flute, and piano

Followed by: guided tours through the Stadthaus (details available soon)

Malerei und Collage / painting and collage
21. Mai 2023 - 13. August 2023
Birte Horn - set_up
Kabinett

Birte Horns Werk an einer Plakatwand vor einem Haus
colourvote 2021 Wahlplakate, Intervention Siebdruck. © Birte Horn
Für das Bildmaterial recherchiert sie fotografisch meist an Orten, die verschwinden - etwa in zum Abriss freigegebenen Dörfern im Garzweiler Braunkohlerevier oder einem verlassenen Hospital in Venedig. Ihr Interesse gilt den Farben, Formen und Strukturen der Räume und Gegenstände, die von Menschen zurückgelassen wurden. Diese Fotos stellen für sie freilich nur einen ersten Entwurf für ihre Arbeiten dar.
Bunte Papierausschnitte geometrisch geordnet
papercut_18 2019 Letraset. © Birte Horn

In einem vielschichtigen Prozess wandelt sie das Fotomaterial in Malerei; gefundene Farbformen werden in ihren Bildern auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen zu räumlichen, oftmals abstrakten Neuordnungen verwoben. Hierbei ist die Fläche in ihrem Verhältnis zum Leerraum ein großes Thema – sie ist das Gegenstück zum Raum.

Es ist ein Vorgang des fortwährenden Fragmentierens und Umwandelns, bis die malerische Vernetzung der Ebenen sich auf der Leinwand ihren Raum greift und an sich tragend wird.

Wandinstallation monochrome, farbige Platten
standout_3 und 4, Farbfonds, 2021. © Birte Horn

Die Malerei ist für Birte Horn ein Zwischenraum, der im Finden von Bildern auch immer das Verschieben von Wirklichkeit vorwegnimmt. So richtet die Künstlerin den Fokus in ihrem Werk auf das Prinzip der Dekonstruktion und Konstruktion. Sie extrahiert, fragmentiert und setzt zusammen – in Gedanken, mit den Augen, den Händen, der Sprache. Die Gedanken und Bilder im Kopf können sich frei in alle Richtungen bewegen, sie schieben sich übereinander und verbinden sich so immer wieder zu neuen Ideen. Das bedeutet viel Freiheit und ist ein Spiel mit Teilen der Realität.

 

Biografie Birte Horn

Birte Horn, 1972 in Düsseldorf geboren, studierte Kunst an der Universität Folkwang-Hochschule in Essen bei Prof. Laszlo Lakner und Germanistik an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität in Düsseldorf. Seit vielen Jahren lebt sie in Blaubeuren. Unter anderem war sie Stipendiatin der Stiftung Kunstfonds und der pro arte ulmer kunststiftung. Ihre Arbeiten wurden zuletzt etwa in Antwerpen, Barcelona, Berlin, Den Haag, Douarnenez, Engen und Stuttgart gezeigt.

Abstrakt Öl auf Leinwand
teile_12 2019 Öl auf Leinwand. © Birte Horn

Kurator: Dr. Raimund Kast
Eröffnung am Internationalen Museumstag, Sonntag, 21. Mai 2023, 14 Uhr

***

21. Mai 2023
Internationaler Museumstag im Stadthaus

11:30 Uhr: Trio Solovey - Eva Möritz, Katharina Möritz-Rodionov und Dmitry Rodionov
Romantische Lieder für Sopran, Flöte und Klavier

anschließend: Führungen durch das Stadthaus (Details dazu folgen zum späteren Zeitpunkt)